Book 14 of year 2020 : the next person you meet in the heaven

Hi all! Hope everything is getting better by each day on your end, and hope you are finding something positive to hold on to in these gloomy days. These days blogging is my morning dose of positivity. Today I’m writing about another sweet book by Mitch Albom, ‘The next person you meet in the heaven’. This is my third book by Mitch, and I can say I loved the way he writes even more this time. And there are going to be so many more blogs here about the rest of his books. Again I chose an audiobook version of this book, because I love listening to Mitch’s voice. This was a small audiobook of around 4-5 hours, and I listened to it in my drawing time. I completed this book in three days and over 9 drawings. I’ll admit, I had second thoughts about reading this book, in fact I stopped reading after an hour into it. But thankfully I don’t like keeping stories unfinished, and I decided to continue with it. And well I read a nice book thanks to my obsession.

In this book, Mitch takes us through a journey of afterlife. The story starts off with a little background, it builds up the accident with all the little details, which will take the Centre person, Annie, and in turn the readers to the trip of heaven. Annie enters the heaven, confused, unsure of what to do next, and even a little frustrated to have her life on earth ended so early, a day after her marriage. Much like how a new born baby enters the world. In a way life in heaven is a new life in itself. This gives an unexpected satisfaction, the world doesn’t end after death, there’s a new world, and new life(?) waiting for us. I’ve hold on to the theory of soul and afterlife till today, just for this satisfying feeling.

Annie then discovers she’s not whole, her body parts are missing and they will develop as she proceeds through her journey of heaven. She meets a five persons she knew and were dead one by one, and spends time with them. Each person tells her how their lives touched, how they impacted each other’s lives. Through each meeting Annie realizes new learnings, this changes her mindset to look at things, and to look at life she lived. She also resolves many relationship issues, which were left unsaid. Each person shows her the part where their heaven, touched Annie’s heaven, and then guides her to the next person. And this is how our lives are, each person lives a part of life with us that touched with our life, and then that interaction leads us to a next stage, next phase or next aspect of our life. But we rarely notice it. So many of such unnoticed concepts are written clearly for the life in heaven, that make us understand so much about life on earth.

The final person Annie meets in heaven, and what happens after that is a plot twist. And although it’s very tempting to write about it, I will not. I won’t ruin the book for anyone for anything. The plot twist really threw me off. It’s one of those real moments of surprises. I’ll recommend anyone who wants a soothing book to read this one. Anyone who is not strongly against the concept of souls will enjoy it. For those against it, this book doesn’t provide you with scientific experiments or proofs. And you won’t find your answers here, but you can read it life a fiction book. And that’s what it is, a fiction book, based on information given by a few people who had near death experiences. Like always Mitch handles this serious and kind of dark subject so beautifully that it feels light and fragrant like flowers for some reason. Anyone who is grieving a loved one, will be at a better place by reading this book. This book is like a warm hug, just when you feel like crying. Do comment down if you’ve read it, or planning to read it. Hope you’ve enjoyed reading this blog, because I really enjoyed writing it. Have a great day ahead. Keep reading, stay safe, stay home if you can.

Leave a comment