Book 12 of year 2020 : the path made clear

Hi all! I’m back with another book experience to share with you all. With so many book reviews already pending, I can actually feel the stress while reading. So today before I grab a book to read, I’ll get done with writing as much as I can. So the book I’m talking about today is ‘the path made clear’ by Oprah Winfrey. This is my second book by Oprah, and it won’t be too soon to say I’m in love with her. I started this year with an Oprah book, and decided to read many more of her books. I listened to an audiobook. This was a different experience as the book was a collection of various interesting parts of various interviews she conducted. The audiobook experience was different on another level, as it had actual parts of the interviews with a little bit of background or comments by Oprah in the beginning and end. May be listening to audiobook of this particular book wasn’t a great choice as it lacked a continuity, due to different persons speaking. But listening to Oprah’s voice makes everything worth it.

The theme of this book was discovering the path of life that we are supposed to walk on, taking in many learning, facing different situations, creating number of bonds and in turn discovering yourself. As can be expected, different persons have different angles to look at it, and present different theories. You don’t need to stick to a single theory, you can take parts of everyone’s experiences and derive your version of it, combined with your views. That’s the best part of this book. It’s not like most of the self discovery books, where the author explains a theory and we take the spoon fed concept in. Oprah here, gives us bits and pieces of very unique explanations by diverse personalities. We are the ones who derive a concept to believe in. We are the ones who take in what’s applicable for us and our lives. We are the ones included in the book, like a conversation. This is what made the book a personal experience. It made me think, and that’s what was expected by Oprah from any reader.

This book was not an usual read. So I won’t bother putting exact quotes or lines I loved. Instead, I’ll write my versions of the concepts I loved. This goes well with the theme of this book.

We face the most resistance for doing the things that will make us rich as a person. If a thing you are trying to do or achieve has many obstacles on the way, know that it’s good for your soul. And with each obstacle you are learning a very important lesson.

This book was a surely a quick read. I finished it over two days of evening walks. But it wasn’t a light read by any means. I was thinking about everything I heard for at least three more days. This book took me in the right mindset to face this pandemic that we are all surrounded by. It cleared my thoughts in a way, to prepare me for what was coming. Now that we all are spending some extra time at home, it would be a great thing to listen to more of Oprah books to find for a new vision to look at the world ( through your window!)

Have a safe stay at home. And may everyone out there be safe from this disaster. Stay home, read more, get ready for a better world that’ll welcome us super soon.

Leave a comment